2008 **BBVA** Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards

AWARD DECISION

BASIC SCIENCES CATEGORY

Madrid, January 28, 2009.

The jury of the 2008 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards in the Basic Sciences category, formed by:

CHAIR OF THE JURY

Prof. Theodor W. HÄNSCH Max Planck-Institute of Quantum Optics Germany	Prof. Theodor W. HÄNSCH	
---	-------------------------	--

MEMBERS

Prof. Douglas ABRAHAM	Theoretical Physics Oxford University United Kingdom
Prof. Martin QUACK	Physical Chemistry ETH Zurich Switzerland
Prof. Hongkun PARK	Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology Harvard University USA
Prof. Sandip TIWARI	Electrical and Computer Engineering National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network Cornell University USA

SECRETARY

Prof. Gerardo DELGADO Institute for Mathematics and Theorethical Physics CSIC Spain
--

Meeting together on January 28, 2009 in the offices of the BBVA Foundation in Madrid, Spain in order to deliberate and decide, have resolved to grant the award envisaged in point 7 of the call conditions to the following candidate:

2008 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the Basic Sciences category:

Award-winning nomination:

Ignacio Cirac, Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany

and

Peter Zoller, University of Innsbruck and Institute for Quantum Optics, and Quantum Information of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Innsbruck,
Austria

Reasons for award:

For their fundamental work on quantum information science.

They have formulated new theoretical insights and inspired experiments from quantum simulation to engineering in systems ranging from atoms and ions to condensed matter.

And in witness whereof sign the present document in the place and on the date first above written.

CHAIR OF THE JURY

Prof. Theodor W. HÄNSCH

MEMBERS

Prof. Douglas ABRAHAM

Doyl Abral

Prof. Martin QUACK

Prof. Hongkun PARK

Hore F

Masfin allack

Prof. Sandip TIWARI

Sanding Tivan.

SECRETARY

Prof. Gerardo DELGADO (Servis Final Final